Bella Vista - History
Bella Vista is a deceptively large house with a picturesque garden, overlooking Swanage Bay. Built in 1900, it has had a variety of uses.
From 1900 to 1934 it was known as The Bungalow and was let as apartments. In 1934 it was renamed Bella Vista and operated as a private hotel until 1940 when it was taken over by the army and used to billet troops including, from 1944, US Army soldiers. Bella Vista re-opened as a private hotel in 1954 and since then has been used for a variety of hospitality offerings including bed and breakfast, retreat centre, whole house summer lets and celebrations.
William and Naomi Duffield took over ownership in October 2017 and very much look forward to welcoming guests from January 2018